Western Students Receive President’s Writing Award

Several students from Western Technical College were recipients of the President’s Writing Award this year.

                Recipients of this award include:

                Lindsay Kronebusch, of Dakota, MN, first place Creative Nonfiction and first place Research and Analytical

                Matthew David Hall, of Westby, first place 55-Word Narrative

                Zachary Lipecki, of Burlington, first place Fiction

                Alyssa Betz, of Caledonia, MN, first place Tribute Speech and first place Poetry

                Gabrielle Krueger, of La Crosse, second place Creative Nonfiction

                Corey Cleven, of Caledonia, MN, second place 55-World Narrative and second place Research and Analytical

                Helen Hale, of La Crosse, second place Fiction

                Kenny Gilmore, of Tomah, second place Tribute Speech

                Ashley St. Sauver, of Waukesha, second place Poetry

The President’s Writing Award was created to honor excellence in student writing across multiple genres. Submissions were read by a local panel of instructors and writers. They were judged according to the following standards: artful treatment of subject matter, quality of insight, voice, style, cohesiveness, originality, and overall aesthetic and emotional effect.

Congratulations to all the winners!